ACM-W Scholarship for Attendance of Research Conferences Program

The ACM-W Scholarship for Attendance of Research Conferences program provides support for women students in Computer Science and related programs who wish to attend research conferences. The student does not have to present a paper at the conference to be eligible for a scholarship. The scholarship exposes students to prominent researchers in their field, introduces students to new research, and excites them about doing research by themselves.

But everyone knows that with the Coronavirus Crisis we are living through, many of the Computer Science conferences are being delayed, made virtual and sometimes plainly canceled. Everyone has had to adapt. The Scholarship Committee has decided to keep its deadlines as usual and to deal with the delays and cancellations as they arise.

Therefore, in April we will assign scholarships for the conferences officially scheduled in June and July. However, if the conference is postponed or cancelled, the scholar will retain their scholarship for the same conference, or another conference later on. In both cases, the scholar must inform the ACM-W Scholarship committee. Moreover, in the latter case, the ACM-W committee will decide if the other conference is equally suitable. In any case, the scholarship will not be lost.

If you have read our last newsletter we may have seen that we were planning some questionnaires to help us improve the communication with our readers and the distribution of the scholarship awards. Given the severity of the coronavirus situation and the need for all of us to survive quarantine and all it implies, these plans are on hold for the time being.

We hope all of you and your loved ones are healthy and well. We will get through this together, hopefully stronger and fairer in the long run!!

For more information and to apply visit:  

To see previous winners’ reports on their conference trips visit

The next application deadline is April 15 for conferences taking place in June 1 – Jul 31st, 2020.  

If you have any questions, please contact the scholarship committee chair Prof. Viviana Bono, at

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Email
  • Print