ACM Names 13 Women as Fellows for Contributions to Computing

Contributions of ACM Fellows in a word cloud

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 68 Fellows for transformative contributions to computing science and technology. In this article, we are highlighting 13 women who were selected by their peers for groundbreaking innovations that have improved how we live, work, and play.

ACM President Yannis Ioannidis said: “ACM is proud to include nearly 110,000 computing professionals in our ranks, and ACM Fellows represent just 1% of our entire global membership.”. They are the “colleagues whose contributions have all been important building blocks in forming the digital society that shapes our modern world”.

2024 ACM Fellows include:

Dr. Maria-Florina Balcan – USA: For contributions to the foundations of machine learning and its applications to algorithmic economics and algorithm design. Balcan is the Cadence Design Systems Professor of Computer Science in the Machine Learning and Computer Science departments (CSD) at CMU. Her main research interests are in machine learning, artificial intelligence, algorithmic game theory and theoretical computer science (Source: CMU). Previous awards include ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award (2019)

Yingying Chen – USA: For contributions to design and application of mobile sensing and mobile security systems. Chen is a Professor and Department Chair at Rutgers Electrical and Computer Engineering (Source: Rutgers). Previous awards include ACM Distinguished Member (2021)

Xin Luna Dong – USA: For contributions to knowledge graph construction and data integration. Dong is a Principal Scientist at Meta Reality Labs, leading the ML efforts in building an intelligent personal assistant (Source: Homepage). Previous awards include ACM Distinguished Member (2018)

Anja Feldmann – Germany: For contributions to the data-driven analysis of operational networks. Professor Anja Feldmann of Saarland University in Saarbrücken is a Director of the Max Planck Institute, and one of the world’s leading experts in the field of the internet. Her fundamental and practical work on the measurement, analysis and modeling of internet traffic and internet routing has made a significant contribution to the further development of the internet, particularly in terms of security and reliability. (Source: SIC)

Nicole Immorlica – USA: For contributions to economics and computation, including market design, auctions and social networks.  Immorlica is a Principal Researcher at the Microsoft Research New England Lab. She is broadly interested in problems at the intersection of economics and algorithms. (Source: ACM)

Wenjing Lou – USA: For contributions to information and network security. Lou is W.C. English Endowed Professor at Virginia Tech. Her research interests cover many topics in the cybersecurity field, with her current research interest focusing on blockchain, privacy protection in machine learning systems, and security and privacy problems in the Internet of Things (IoT) systems. (Source: Homepage)

Zhuoqing Mao – USA: For contributions to internet security and performance. Mao is a professor at University of Michigan. Her research centers around networks, mobile and distributed systems, and security. Her recent projects include enhancing the security and reliability of connected and automated vehicles, resolving networking issues in data cellular and mobile cloud computing networks, and more. (Source: UMich) Previous awards include ACM Distinguished Member (2022)

Deborah McGuinness – USA: For contributions to knowledge technologies including ontologies and knowledge graphs. McGuinness is an endowed chaired professor in computer science, cognitive science, and industrial and systems engineering at Renssealer Polytechnic Institute. She also co-chairs the Tetherless World Constellation (TWC) and is the founding director of the RPI Web Science Research Center. McGuinness has a longstanding history of leadership in fundamental and applied Semantic Web research, bridging artificial intelligence (AI) and eScience, and creating explainable, provenance-aware AI environments and applications (Source: RPI).

Natasha Noy – USA: For contributions to open data, data discovery, and semantic web. Noy is a research scientist at Google, received her Ph.D. from Northeastern in 1997. She leads a research team building Google’s Dataset Search, a search engine specifically designed to find datasets — of all kinds — that are publicly available on the web (Source: NorthEeastern)

Corina S Pasareanu – USA: For contributions to the development and application of symbolic execution and compositional verification. Pasareanu is principal systems scientist in ECE, member of CyLab and scientist at NASA’s Ames Research Center. (Source: CMU)

Prof. Dana Ron – Israel: For contributions to sub-linear time approximation algorithms. Ron is a faculty member at the School of Electrical Engineering, Tel Aviv University. Her main research focus is on the design and analysis of sublinear algorithms, and in particular property testing and (sublinear) approximation algorithms (Source: Homepage).

Dr. Phoebe Sengers – USA: For contributions to critically-informed human-computer interaction and design.Phoebe Sengers is a professor in Information Science and Science & Technology Studies at Cornell University. Her primary research fields are Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) and Science & Technology Studies (STS). Her work integrates ethnographic and historical analysis of the social implications of technology with design methods to suggest alternative future possibilities (Source: Homepage).

Elaine Shi – USA: For contributions to the scientific foundation of oblivious computation and decentralized blockchains. Shi is an associate professor in CSD and the College of Engineering’s Electrical and Computer Engineering Department (ECE) at CMU. Her research areas include cryptography, game theory, algorithms, and foundations and blockchains. (Source: CMU)

Many congratulations!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Email
  • Print